Ends on

The annual AIA Colorado Awards Program honors the outstanding work of AIA Colorado members and their firms, reinforce the value of great architecture and highlight members’ contributions to positive change. 

Apply for a 2020 AIA Colorado Honor Award—you deserve the credit. 

Submittals are due by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, July 10. 

Click here to access the full instructions. 

Who is eligible? 

The AIA Colorado Honor Awards are intended to honor architects contributing to positive change in our community. Positive change can be accomplished through the built environment in the form of excellent or responsible design, educating or training future architects, providing services as owner representatives or similar allied roles in public or private sectors. 

For most individual awards, nominees must be licensed architects in Colorado and members of AIA Colorado. Nominees do not have to be licensed architects to apply for or receive the Associate Architect of the Year Award, but they must be AIA Colorado members. Nominees for the President’s Award (more details below) do not need to be AIA Colorado members or licensed architects. 

For team awards, eligible firms must have an office located in the state of Colorado and a principal, or principals, must be members of AIA Colorado. 

To be eligible, firms or individuals must abide by the AIA Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct. AIA Colorado also encourages everyone in the profession to be familiar with the Guides for Equitable Practice. See required disclaimers at the end of this packet. 

Nominations may be completed on behalf of an individual or firm that meet these requirements. Nominations for the President Award may not be completed by the individual themselves. 

Honor Awards Jury 

The Honor Awards Jury will be comprised of the following individuals:

• AIA Colorado Board Section Directors (North, South, West and Denver)

• AIA Colorado Board President-Elect

• AIA Colorado Board At-Large Director

• AIA Colorado Board Secretary 

• Previous year’s recipients of the Architect of the Year and Young Architect of the Year Honor Awards 

Honor Award Categories 

Individual Awards - 

  • Architect of the Year
  • Young Architect of the Year
  • Associate AIA Member of the Year 
  • President's Award (nominations accepted separately for this award) 

Team Awards - 

  • Firm of the Year
  • Young Firm of the Year
  • Twenty-Five Year Award
We use Submittable to accept and review our submissions.